�
�
� << fezmonkey >> �
�
<<
�
><
�
>>
�
Sign
Country Fair
July 16, 2002 @ 10:35 a.m.

I went to Hippie Disneyland on Sunday. I know I've said some things about hippies in the past, but I'm trying to get over those feelings of prejudice. This town is full of those people. Living here and hating hippies is like living in Salt Lake and hating Mormons. Sure, it is fun but there are so many of them that eventually it is more trouble to hate them than to ignore them or even like them.

OK, so back to the fair. It has been going on for 30-some years. It used to be this really naturally occuring thing and lots of famous hippies would go there (like the Grateful Dead). Now it is a lot more polished than it was then, and they discourage drug and alcohol use by saying that it is a "Drug and Alcohol Free" event. Well, it wasn't rampant, but I sure could have used some drugs...maybe not the alcohol so much. I took pictures of some funny things, some cool things, and some strange things. I used my actual film camera though so I have to wait for them to come out. People dress up, they dress down, they have a crazy and semi-naked time. There are millions of naked kids running around and having fun. There are a bunch of stages with live music and whatnot. All in all, I'd say that it is a good experience, even for a reformed hippie-hater like me.

PS -- I forgot, I actually got one shot with a digital camera.

Hippies

And no, I don't know any of those people.

�
<< Previous � � � � � � � Current � � � � � � � Next >>


Last Five:
Ouch - September 21, 2003
A Full Day - September 21, 2003
I Wear My Sunglasses At Night, and Day, and Basically All Times - September 16, 2003
An Interview with a Monkey - September 01, 2003
I'm Unbelievably Clever - August 31, 2003
�
Current � Old Stuff � Sign My Guestbook � My Profile � My Fotolog � Diaryland
�

�