�
�
� << fezmonkey >> �
�
<<
�
><
�
>>
�
Sign
Arrogance and Ignorance
November 18, 2002 @ 9:30 p.m.

Today at work I spent a bit of time working with a woman who is at the company on a temporary basis. Eventually, we got sick of the silence and made some small talk. At one point she asked me if I'd ever worked with glass before. I admitted that I hadn't and that I actually got the job through my sister's boyfriend. We chatted a bit about family type stuff and I decided to ask her if she'd worked with glass before. I figured it was a safe question.

"Oh, only for twenty years," she said in a mix of playfulness and rudeness. "I'm the wildlife glass artist."

Excuse me? The wildlife glass artist? Are you telling me you are the only one? "Neat."

"I did the leopard pattern top upstairs."

"Oh? I don't think I've seen it."

Her eyes open wide as she explains it to me.

"Oh right. That's pretty cool." No it isn't.

I went on to ask a bit about her technique and everything associated with glass work because I'm kind of interested. She described the way that she works which is unimportant for our purposes here. I told her that I didn't know one could work glass like that.

"That's because I practically invented it. You see the word 'pioneer' a lot next to my name."

That's fucking special, you seem so humble. "Wow."

She went on to name names of people she works with and publications she'd been written about in, all with a certain amount of pride but also indignation that I should be so ignorant. She really seemed to think that I should know who she is. I'm sorry, lady, but I just don't care what you invented. I've now seen two examples of your work and as far as I'm concerned, you are not as great as you think you are or as great as you think everyone else thinks you are. If you want to impress someone, I guess you'd better look to someone else. Me, I don't know shit.

I like art but I hate artists who take themselves so fucking seriously. The wildlife glass artist. Please.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Special Bonus Update!!!

I desperately want to get out of my chair but I don't want to disturb Sydney. This makes two nights in a row that I've caved into my cat's unabashed cuteness.

�
<< Previous � � � � � � � Current � � � � � � � Next >>


Last Five:
Ouch - September 21, 2003
A Full Day - September 21, 2003
I Wear My Sunglasses At Night, and Day, and Basically All Times - September 16, 2003
An Interview with a Monkey - September 01, 2003
I'm Unbelievably Clever - August 31, 2003
�
Current � Old Stuff � Sign My Guestbook � My Profile � My Fotolog � Diaryland
�

�