�
�
� << fezmonkey >> �
�
<<
�
><
�
>>
�
Sign
Sunday
January 12, 2003 @ 1:39 p.m.

Yesterday I got together with Stephanie for a late breakfast at one of my more favorite places. It is a bar that serves large portions at a good value. My favorite thing there is the chicken fried steak. It is served with hash browns, eggs, toast, and two pieces of chicken fried steak smothered in gravy. Man, is it good. But that's not what I got yesterday. I got the breakfast monte cristo sandwich. Three slices of french toast filled with ham, cheese, and hash browns topped with an egg. I had the leftover half for breakfast this morning. It is so big and delicious.

We then picked up Sydney and brought her to Stephanie's place. Since I'm going to be moving soon and also spending so much time away from where I currently live the cat is just going to stay at her place until I settle into my new place. I didn't leave my roommates a note that I'd taken the cat so they thought that they'd lost her. Oops. That wasn't thinking very well on my part.

Then Stephanie and I went to Target where I spent almost all of my Christmas gift certificate on things for the new apartment. I got a broom and dustpan, a dish rack, a garbage can, dish towels, toilette brush, bath and hand towels, shower curtains (I need two because I have a clawfoot tub, and a little set that includes a soap dish, toothbrush holder, soap dispenser, and garbage can. I brought that stuff and other kitchen stuff that my dad gave me to the new apartment. I need to move into there by next weekend. It shouldn't be a huge deal but I do have some large items that will be a pain to bring over. Plus, it is in a neighborhood in which there is little parking. That is a pain. I have been using my mom's car this weekend while at her house. I parked up the street from my apartment, right outside Pizza Oasis whose owner my dad is friends with. We spotted each other as Stephanie and I were getting back into the car so we stopped in to say friendly hellos. He gave us some beers and we decided to grab a slice each. The owner is a nice guy who offered more beer and told me not to be a stranger. As I'll be living just up the street, I probably won't be. Things like that are why I'm looking forward to living in the area where I'll be living, northwest Portland. It is a very yuppified area, quite trendy with many boutique shops. I've lived there before and the Saturday crowds used to bother me but I think I'm ready for it again. There are cheaper places to live in and around Portland but I like the area. I like the vintage apartment buildings everywhere. I like the fact that I can walk in any direction and be in a different part of town. Public transportation criss-crosses the area. I can walk downtown in about half an hour, give or take. There is shopping nearby. Grocery and video rental stores a quick walk. Basically, almost anything that I need, I can get within walking distance. But if I can't get it close, I can take a bus or MAX. It is a good area because it is so close to so much.

I haven't thought that much about it, but living alone is a big step for me. Originally, when I moved out on my own, I lived alone, but Stephanie and I moved in together less than a year after that. Since then I've been living with people. When living with people it is easy to get annoyed and to crave solitude. But once you have the solitude you remember how nice it is to have roommates, to have a built in social system with which you don't have to make an effort to meet. All in all, I think it is a great thing for me to live by myself. But I'm going to have to make an effort to be social or I will just further isolate myself. I don't want that.

I have to pick up my mom and Susan at the airport tonight. Their dog will be happy because no matter how much time I spend with her, she still seems depressed without them.

�
<< Previous � � � � � � � Current � � � � � � � Next >>


Last Five:
Ouch - September 21, 2003
A Full Day - September 21, 2003
I Wear My Sunglasses At Night, and Day, and Basically All Times - September 16, 2003
An Interview with a Monkey - September 01, 2003
I'm Unbelievably Clever - August 31, 2003
�
Current � Old Stuff � Sign My Guestbook � My Profile � My Fotolog � Diaryland
�

�