�
�
� << fezmonkey >> �
�
<<
�
><
�
>>
�
Sign
Self Respect
May 19, 2002 @ 3:17 p.m.

I keep coming back to an idea. It is one that I think is quite important to me. Lots of people, myself included, think that a key to getting over a breakup is to have a rebound relationship. I keep changing my mind about the subject. I keep thinking that a rebound is exactly what I need to get over what I'm experiencing right now. But wouldn't a rebound just be a bandaid? Sometimes wallowing in pain and sadness is important. I need to experience sadness, not mask it with another person.

If I were to jump into another relationship, short or long, it would be too easy to forget the things about myself that I need to work on. I need to know who I am. I think sometimes I use a relationship, or a girlfriend, or even a friend, as a cruch. A way of knowing that I'm important because others think that I am. Which is more important though? Knowing that I'm important and valuable or letting other people tell me that I am. I'm always going to be here. They won't always be here. It is logical then to conclude that the approval I need is from myself and not others. Logical, yes, but not easy.

I've lived my life for others. I do what they think I should do, am what they think I should be. I've been so afraid of people disapproving of me, that I've been afraid to be myself. But the rare times when I am myself (whoever that is) are when I and the others around me are happiest. I have it all turned around, mixed up. I don't need to have another girlfriend to validate me as a person, or boyfriend, or what-have-you. I need to believe that about myself before I choose to share it with someone else.

Here's the kicker, though. When I take a deep look at myself, I'm not sure I have much to offer. That's where my deep insecurity comes from. So, I don't value who I am. I'm afraid others won't either, so I just change to fit the situation. No wonder I'm so damned confused right now. I feel like what she did reflects on my value as a person, or boyfriend, or sex partner or whatever. When I understand that that isn't the case, I think I will be a lot better off.

Then, I can go on and live for myself.

�
<< Previous � � � � � � � Current � � � � � � � Next >>


Last Five:
Ouch - September 21, 2003
A Full Day - September 21, 2003
I Wear My Sunglasses At Night, and Day, and Basically All Times - September 16, 2003
An Interview with a Monkey - September 01, 2003
I'm Unbelievably Clever - August 31, 2003
�
Current � Old Stuff � Sign My Guestbook � My Profile � My Fotolog � Diaryland
�

�