�
�
� << fezmonkey >> �
�
<<
�
><
�
>>
�
Sign
Pictures.
June 03, 2002 @ 1:07 p.m.

So, I had just signed up for the gold account to help diaryland out. They added a new feature. They made it so I can put up a picture in my profile. See me here. I'm not much to look at, but my personality is marginally acceptable. So with this gold account I can put up images on the diaryland server, but I'm kind of thinking that images, at least ones of me, may take away a little bit from some of the mystique. That's what's so damn great about these diaries. We are all pimply faced nerds, well at least you guys are, who pretend to be these really smart, witty people to who can tell lots of funny stories. So, if you saw a picture of me, your idea of what I am would also be influenced by what I look like. And although I don't think that's a bad thing, it isn't the right thing for this type of medium. My favorite diaries are all devoid of human images. I enjoy thinking, "hmm...what does this person look like?" Invariably they look like how they sound. That isn't really how things work in the real world. If we showed pictures of ourselves, we would be giving up one of the greatest secrets that we have. In the real world, the first ideas that we get about each other are based on looks. Here, they are based on our words. That is why I like this site.
�
<< Previous � � � � � � � Current � � � � � � � Next >>


Last Five:
Ouch - September 21, 2003
A Full Day - September 21, 2003
I Wear My Sunglasses At Night, and Day, and Basically All Times - September 16, 2003
An Interview with a Monkey - September 01, 2003
I'm Unbelievably Clever - August 31, 2003
�
Current � Old Stuff � Sign My Guestbook � My Profile � My Fotolog � Diaryland
�

�