�
�
� << fezmonkey >> �
�
<<
�
><
�
>>
�
Sign
Slaughterhouse Five
June 03, 2002 @ 4:11 p.m.

I just finished "Slaughterhouse Five." I really like it. I think I'm particularly susceptable to its message (find out why). My concept of fate is almost exactly that of the Trafalmadorians' concept of time. Of course, I can't see all time like they can. I don't usually mark in books, but these two paragraphs were particularly important to me:

"If you know this," said Billy, "isn't there some way you can prevent it? Can't you keep the pilot from pressing the button?"

"He has always pressed it, and he always will. We always let him and we always will let him. The moment is structured that way."

Well, that sums it up. If one is to buy into that concept of time (which I do) one can only say that which is repeated throughout the book, "So it goes."

Of course, this particular moment is structured so that I smell like a monkey and must take a shower.

�
<< Previous � � � � � � � Current � � � � � � � Next >>


Last Five:
Ouch - September 21, 2003
A Full Day - September 21, 2003
I Wear My Sunglasses At Night, and Day, and Basically All Times - September 16, 2003
An Interview with a Monkey - September 01, 2003
I'm Unbelievably Clever - August 31, 2003
�
Current � Old Stuff � Sign My Guestbook � My Profile � My Fotolog � Diaryland
�

�