�
�
� << fezmonkey >> �
�
<<
�
><
�
>>
�
Sign
A "Date" Story
August 09, 2002 @ 11:11 a.m.

I will now proceed to describe my painfully uneventful last night.

I don't know this girl very much. I will call her A because I am a hyper-creative individual. So like I said, I don't know her very much but I'm attracted to her and I guess she is to me. One of her roommates apparently has really been pushing me as a commodity and I'm not sure that helps anything.

Last night for the first time in a while we actually saw each other. She'd called earlier in the day and apologized to me about the other night. She didn't have the best of excuses and, although I didn't care all that much, I probably put up a barrier after that. Some friends of hers were playing a show and she wanted to know if I'd like to go. I of course said that I would. She came to pick me up around 9:30.

We rode bikes with one of her roommates to the place. It was really quite nice to ride there and we had a decent bike riding conversation. I even got to tell at least one witty anecdote. Things seemed to be going fine. But then we got to the place. It was uncomfortable for me for two main reasons: 1) loud music making conversation nearly impossible and 2) there were like 15 people there that A knew. It is difficult to deal with such an uphill climb. I tried to make the best of it but I don't think I hid my uncomfortability so well. It isn't like anyone was mean or anything but I wasn't anticipating having to deal with so many other people. It is like if I were to tell a story or something, not only would I have had to impress her but also her friends. And that Gentle Reader is what caused me to shut down.

So after last night I don't really think there is much of a romantic future here. That's ok. As I said before, I don't really know her. And also at least I took a shot at it. For me just going out is a moral victory. It doesn't even have to work out.

That said, I'm not completely ruling anything out. But if I were a betting man, I wouldn't put my money on me getting any in the near future.

PS -- Gentle Reader, it probably is a good thing that it won't work out anyway. I just found out last night that she's moving in about a month. I thought she was going to have another year here.

PPS -- How long would it have taken one of us to come to this crow's solution? Me, at least a day.

�
<< Previous � � � � � � � Current � � � � � � � Next >>


Last Five:
Ouch - September 21, 2003
A Full Day - September 21, 2003
I Wear My Sunglasses At Night, and Day, and Basically All Times - September 16, 2003
An Interview with a Monkey - September 01, 2003
I'm Unbelievably Clever - August 31, 2003
�
Current � Old Stuff � Sign My Guestbook � My Profile � My Fotolog � Diaryland
�

�